The February 18, 1915 Spirit River News mentions several businesses operating in Spirit River. Of note was the Holden House, which appears to have been a hotel and restaurant, with, as was common, a livery and feed barn “in connection.” An exciting feature of the building was a fine well found in the basement! The large second floor was used for dances with as many as 150 in attendance. An article about a “Ladies’ Ball” two years later indicates that dances were still being held there, and the building was still owned by Mr. Holden. The Ladies’ Ball was quite a unique format, being described as resembling a leap year social event.
Researched and written by Kathryn Auger