Fonds 488 Beaver Hockey League fonds

Beaver Hockey League fonds. — 1979-1983. — 10.5 cm.

Back to Finding Aids

Agency History

In 1979, the Beaver Hockey League consisted of the Rycroft “Flames”, Sexsmith “Generals”, Hythe”Mustangs”, Grande Prairie “Turbo Pumpers”, “Doug’s 66 Oilers”, and the “G.P. Shadows”. By 1980, the League included the Spirit River “Rangers”, their commissioner was Dave Martel and Sec./Treas. was Don Edgecombe Sr. Fees for each team that year totaled $494 and referees were paid $50 for regular games and $60 for play offs plus mileage. It was the responsibility of the Home Team to mail game scoresheets to the statistician within 48 hours of each game. Players and referees had to be carded by the Alberta Amateur Hockey Association.

Custodial History

These records were received from Chuck Stojan and donated to the South Peace Regional Archives by Emil Stredulinsky in 2009.

Scope and Content

The fonds consists of one set of minutes, game reports, schedules, league statistics, and play off statistics in 1979 for the teams Rycroft “Flames”, Sexsmith “Generals”, Hythe”Mustangs”, Grande Prairie “Turbo Pumpers”, “Doug’s 66 Oilers”, “G.P. Shadows” and Spirit River “Rangers”. By 1983 the League final statitics show the teams as Hythe “Mustangs, Rycroft “Flames”, Sexsmith “Generals”, Grande Prairie “Blazers”, Sexsmith “Huskies”, and Spirit River “Rangers”.


A copy of all records relating to game reports, league statistics, play off statistics, player statistics, schedules and league minutes were retained. Only duplicate copies of records were not retained.

Back to Top